Print Thread
Rest stock on hard surface to shoot? #8649365 07/26/22 02:43 PM
F
freerange Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
F
Couple of separate threads going about sand bags and bipods so trying to combine and learn.
Trying to learn pro and con when shooting off a hard concrete bench in regard to using a bipod vs a somewhat cushioned bag of some sort.
Assume free floated barrel and wood stock.
Im no expert and Ive never used a bipod and really not likely I will.
Decades ago I was taught(Daddy) to never rest your stock(certainly not barrel) on any hard surface.
It was said that if bipod legs go forward that it doesnt work against the recoil. Makes sense but its still a hard surface that seems like it could bounce upward(even if not back). If experts say with certainty that a free floated barrel solves this, or if a bipod has enough give in it, then that would make sense. My gut says neither is enough.

Reply any way yall want but I wish everyone would just answer at least this one question......
IF YOU REST YOUR RIFLE STOCK DIRECTLY ON A 4X4 BLOCK AND THEN OFF A QUALITY BAG WILL IT SHOOT TO THE SAME SPOT?

At some point in life its time to quit chasing the pot of gold and just enjoy the rainbow. FR
Keep your gratitude higher than your expectations. RWH
Re: Rest stock on hard surface to shoot? [Re: freerange] #8649378 07/26/22 03:00 PM
W
wp75169 Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
W
For your one main question I feel like the answer is maybe. If the stock is properly floated and action has been bedded then it should cause no I’ll effects either way. Stock and barrel contact greatly increases the sensitivity of any outside input of pressure. Properly floated and bedded you should be able to do almost anything to the forend of the stock with no adverse effects. I’ve had many issues with stock pressure and learned the hard way.