Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: New Rifle Break In [Re: Tbar] #8539862 02/24/22 03:08 PM
71Rcode Online Content
Pro Tracker
Online Content
Pro Tracker
T-bar, I don't think your question was weird or odd. I've been shooting for 35 years and I don't think I've ever thought about breaking in a rifle. Also would wager that only 10% of the rifles I've ever owned have been new. Agree with Ten-year --You break it in as you're sighting it in just by sending rounds downrange. You also break it in as you're developing a load because well, you're sending rounds downrange.

I've broken in engines I have built or assembled... definitely a procedure there.

NRA Life Member & GOA Member
Always interested in Marlins. Let me know what you have for sale!
Re: New Rifle Break In [Re: tenyearsgone] #8539886 02/24/22 03:23 PM
J.G. Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
Originally Posted by tenyearsgone
Originally Posted by Tbar
Your questions are kind of redundant.

You break it in as you're sighting it in just by sending rounds downrange. You also break it in as you're developing a load because well, you're sending rounds downrange.

Manufacturers have recommended break in procedures. One of these even specifically says don't bother sighting in until you go through the steps.

https://bergarausa.com/pdf/B14_Detached_mag_manual.pdf
https://www.howausa.com/faq/
https://service.savagearms.com/hc/en-us/articles/214238323-What-is-the-barrel-break-in-procedure-

I’ll stick with the opinions of Kreiger, LaRue, and my personal experience with match grade barrels. I’ve never seen a “break in” ritual make a difference. I have a half dozen barrels that shoot .1, .2, .3 groups that just had a wet patch down the bore to clean it out before firing.

Do you not follow the wet patch with a bunch of dry ones?

[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: New Rifle Break In [Re: J.G.] #8540033 02/24/22 05:05 PM
T