Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Heat pump with electric heat strip #8506307 01/17/22 05:03 PM
603Country Online Content OP
THF Celebrity
OP Online Content
THF Celebrity
We have that, it works, and I have little knowledge of the system. What I’d like to know, but can’t find the info, is what the full load wattage is when we are in super cold weather, like we had in the Big Freeze. If it’s 3 5kw heat units, that’s close to what my Generac can put out running on propane, and we had overload problems during the Big Freeze.

If, for instance, the weather gets progressively colder, will the heat units in the heat pump system come on in sequence, as more heat is required, or do all the heat units come on at once.

I need to figure this out. Bigger Generac, maybe…

Not my monkeys, not my circus...
Re: Heat pump with electric heat strip [Re: 603Country] #8506338 01/17/22 05:42 PM
L
Lazyjack Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
L
Indoor air handlers are manufactured with no heat strips. Heat kits are installed at time of installtions. Heat kits are available in different KWs. Generally, 5KW to 25KW in increments of 5KW. Most likely, one would need to pull the cover and read the nomenclature on the heat kit.

To answer your question on staging. Back in the day, we intalled outdoor thermostats to progressively bring on heat strips, usualy beginning at 45 degrees outdoor. But I have seen that in a 20 years. Now heat pumps produce usable heat well below 45 degrees.

Current practice is to use a 2 stage wall stat. When heat pump can no longer maintain set point, room falls 2 degrees below set point, all heat srips are energized along with heat pump. When indoor temp is with 2 degrees of setpoint, strips are shut off. This will be repeat untill as needed.

When "Emergency Heat" is selected. Heat pump is locked out. Strips become only source of heat.