Print Thread
IRay RICO MK1 640 review... #8187551 03/01/21 06:29 AM
J
joshf303 Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
J
These have been quite the stir lately in the thermal world, and having had used the IRay MH25 bridged with a L3 WP PVS14 in the past I was pretty excited when I caught the word that the IRay scopes would soon be available in the states. Looked into what the Alpha had to offer over the standard MK1 and didn't need the extra bling that it offered so I got my order in with Jason at Outdoor Legacy. I'll start off by saying this...I'm no professional, don't have a big Instagram or social media presence other than 6-7 hunting/shooting related forums, nor do I have a TV show to promote, BUT I do hunt and shoot alot. Shooting competitions, hunting and guiding in several countries and most of our westerns states and here at home in Texas, I feel like I gotta pretty good handle on how things should and shouldn't work. All my gear gets used hard and I expect it to perform up to its "value". I have had a chance to hunt behind and use quite a bit of thermal and NV equipment (both dedicated and clip-on), and have owned a couple higher end units. Take my opinions for what they are worth...

So the scope shows up and I get her unboxed. When I pick the scope up out of the box the first thing I notice is how robust and great it feels. Ya know...like picking up Nightforce NX8/NXS, Vortex Gen2,Z Co etc...solid construction so we are off to a good start. I usually hunt with a combo of NV NODs for getting around/stalking and initial spotting and then follow up with thermal for extending scanning and shooting, so I want a scope that can be used as a scanner and then be remounted before we stalk in for shooting. The RICO's size and form factor fit the hand very good so another plus.