Print Thread
hunt test #7687771 12/13/19 03:00 PM
A
Avian Assassins Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
A
I'm getting a new pup in just a few days and will start training him right away. I train my own dog and have had a couple of really good dogs in the past. I have never done any hunt test or field trials before with any of my past dogs. Never really cared too because I just use them to hunt. I have recently been looking more and more into hunt test and thinking about trying some with my new dog.

so with that said, I have a couple of questions for you hunt test vets/trainers.

1. I don't have any plans (at the moment) to breed my dog. is there a point in getting him his junior, senior, hopefully master titles if I don't really care to breed him?

2. I have had people approach me in the field a few times after seeing my dogs in the past and ask if I'd be willing to stud them out and I've always said no. But not apposed to doing so.
does the attaining of these titles just make the puppies more valuable? I just feel like the only reason I'd have to get the titles is for bragging rights with my buddies and to have some fun with my dog.

3. there is a junior and master hunt test tomorrow and sunday that's only about 30 minutes from my house and was thinking about going and checking it out. Anyone else ever go watch test just to see how it all works? is this a good idea to get a sense of what I'm getting into?

Any insight or tips on any of this would be greatly appreciated.

Re: hunt test [Re: Avian Assassins] #7687870 12/13/19 04:12 PM
H
huck18 Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
H
Originally Posted by Avian Assassins