Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Need input. Can’t get ducks to come in to decoys #7671170 11/24/19 05:58 PM
D
Derrick Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
D
I saw a ton of ducks today but couldn’t get them to come in. There was no wind so decoys didn’t move at all. I had a pretty decent spread in v formation. I’m a very beginner caller. I have killed a lot of ducks on this lake in the past. Any input would be appreciated.

Re: Need input. Can’t get ducks to come in to decoys [Re: Derrick] #7671219 11/24/19 07:01 PM
E
Esh and Hattie Offline
Tracker
Tracker
E
We’ve all had it happen. I would say the most important thing is being where the ducks want to be, you can make a lot of other mistakes if the ducks want in to the spot you’re hunting. Second would be rig a basic jerk string, very easy to make and rig and can make a lot of difference on still days. Third, there’s a big difference in how ducks will react as they fly by based on where they’re going. Is your lake where they roost? If they are flying off roost to go feed, they’re just going to fly by you. If you’re where they want to loaf or water, you have a much better chance at drawing passing birds. Good luck

Re: Need input. Can’t get ducks to come in to decoys [Re: Derrick] #7671267 11/24/19 08:21 PM
K
KWood_TSU Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
K
Were they flaring or just not coming in at all?

Amat Victoria Curam - Victory Loves Preparation
Re: Need input. Can’t get ducks to come in to decoys [Re: Derrick] #7671269 11/24/19 08:25 PM
G
Greekangler Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
G
Did u scout and see them on top of your location?

Clouds are a Btch. Take sun and wrong wind any day. Being on X key if public or big water. Try calling aggressive vs total silence also. Shrink spread. They have seen a V formation many times- change it up. Got a make adjustments during the hunt

If they’re just highflyers obviously you’re probably wasting your time they don’t want to be there