Page 1 of 2 1 2
Deer Camp Protocol #7393814 01/02/19 09:31 PM
B
Beeker Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
B
Total green-horn novice here. Long-time competitive rifle shooter, but never hunted. Recently invited by friend to hunt deer with him on his hill country ranch. Won't be roughing it; there is lodging/house on the property. Looking for some guidance and suggestions. What should I do as a guest? What should I bring? What should I not do? Already applied for license.

[Linked Image]
Re: Deer Camp Protocol [Re: Beeker] #7393823 01/02/19 09:38 PM
T
Texan Til I Die Online Content
Extreme Tracker
Online Content
Extreme Tracker
T
What do you mean applied for a license? They're over the counter.

Bring steaks, beer (if he drinks beer), if you're riding together and stop for gas, buy it. Make sure you know what to shoot and what not to shoot. Make a good shot (if you shoot comps shouldn't be a problem). Clean up the house when you leave and take all the trash with you. And about a million other little things.

Silver spurs and gold tequila
keep me hanging on.
Pretty girls and old cantinas
give me shelter from the storm.
Re: Deer Camp Protocol [Re: Beeker] #7393825 01/02/19 09:39 PM
D
Dalee7892 Online Content
Extreme Tracker
Online Content
Extreme Tracker
D
Clean, pick up, help with chores, take a good whiskey with you to share, ask about what food to bring, make your bed, do dishes, treat the place as if it was yours, be considerate,
Don't get drunk, don't cuss like a sailor, don't be a [censored]

Re: Deer Camp Protocol [Re: Beeker] #7393831 01/02/19 09:41 PM
T
TyBU Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
T
The biggest thing is just ask your friend what you need to bring and what he needs help with and offer to help. I'd bring a couple of bags of corn to use to spread around. Gestures like that goes a long way.

Re: Deer Camp Protocol [Re: Beeker] #7393840 01/02/19 09:48 PM
J
Jimbo Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
J