Print Thread
Bird Hunting Books #6771105 05/22/17 12:48 PM
N
Nogalus Prairie Offline OP
THF Celebrity
OP Offline
THF Celebrity
N
Since I'm fairly new to this game but enjoy it so much, I began reading lots of books about upland game hunting.
Wow, am I impressed! Guys like Nash Buckingham, Havilah Babcock, George Bird Evans, Burton Spiller, Gene Hill, and others.

Some of the best writing ever done has come from the pens and typewriters of bird hunters who loved nothing better than taking their dogs afield.

Interestingly, the newer guys writing seem to try too hard to sound like the guys long gone - and just can't pull it off.

Any other good author/book recommendations?

Originally Posted by Russ79
I learned long ago you can't reason someone out of something they don't reason themselves into.

Re: Bird Hunting Books [Re: Nogalus Prairie] #6771518 05/22/17 07:33 PM
elhewpointerguy Offline
Light Foot
Light Foot

Re: Bird Hunting Books [Re: Nogalus Prairie] #6781860 06/02/17 03:45 PM
R
reeltexan Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
R
Originally Posted By: Nogalus Prairie
Some of the best writing ever done has come from the pens and typewriters of bird hunters who loved nothing better than taking their dogs afield.

I couldn't agree more.
I can recommend a book I just finished. It's not bird hunting, though there is some bird shooting in it.
It's called "Goodbye to a River" by John Graves.
Excellent read.

[Linked Image]

"If we ever forget that we are One Nation Under God, then we will be a nation gone under." Ronald Reagan

Re: Bird Hunting Books [Re: reeltexan] #6782059 06/02/17 07:44 PM
N
THF Celebrity
OP Offline
THF Celebrity
N
Originally Posted By: reeltexan

I couldn't agree more.
I can recommend a book I just finished. It's not bird hunting, though there is some bird shooting in it.
Excellent read.

One of my favorites.