New Hunters....Where to learn???? #5209211 07/20/14 12:28 AM
U
USMC2844 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
U
Afternoon folks.

I am actually new to Texas, as well as being new to hunting. I hunted one season in Georgia over the '12-'13 season, and loved it. Unfortunately my one season of hunting was more of one season sitting in the woods, as I saw no deer I also grew up in a non hunting household so I am pretty much set for not knowing how to hunt.

I was in the Marines, so I like to think I know how to shoot....but I know that is just one part. My father and 2 brothers in law want to learn how to hunt, so they came to me.

My question to the community is really how does one get started hunting in general, in Texas specifically, and is there some sort of hunting mentoring/training program in the DFW area that we could attend/become a part of to learn and start hunting.

Thanks for reading through this long winded deal and thanks for the ideas!

5 Years USMC, lifelong gun lover

"You never fail until you stop trying."- Albert Einstein
“If you want something you’ve never had, you must be willing to do something you’ve never done.”-Thomas Jefferson
Re: New Hunters....Where to learn???? [Re: USMC2844] #5209254 07/20/14 12:54 AM
txshntr Offline
T-Rex Arms
T-Rex Arms
welcome

Stick around here, there is alot of good information and some great people with tons of knowledge. I am sure you will get some great ideas, but here are a few of mine.

Hunting in Texas is mostly done on Private property. There are some options for public, but they can be tough hunting for a new hunter and some require permits/draws, etc.

I would look at going on a guided hunt. Most guides are more than willing to share experiences, show you some techniques that have worked for them, and can put you on some animals.

Start off hog hunting or on some "meat hunts". They seem to be the most affordable way to get on some animals and learn.