Thanx,
Daniel

Re: 8 Week Old Luke Retrieving [Re: kruzie96] #3162080 04/15/12 08:12 PM
B
BobbyLight Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
B
Good looking puppy! Im by no means an expert, or even experienced... my puppy is just a few weeks ahead of yours!

I would suggest doing most of his retrieving in a hallway for now getting him used to chasing and having to come back to you. That worked really well with my puppy to begin with and now he'll return to me outside when I throw retrieves. Also, I'd develop a "fun bumper" word from the beginning... I know some people say "Hey, hey!" or "hup, hup!"... we did that from the beginning and it was so much easier for him to learn the difference between fun bumpers and retrieves that he needed to sit and be steady for.

Good luck! He looks like he'll be lot of fun!

Re: 8 Week Old Luke Retrieving [Re: BobbyLight] #3162094 04/15/12 08:22 PM
S
sallysue Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
S
I used a sweeze toy on Dee when she was that age . Lot softer on their mouth and made noise to get em excited

Re: 8 Week Old Luke Retrieving [Re: sallysue] #3162194 04/15/12 09:24 PM
K
kindall Offline
Extreme Tracker
Extreme Tracker
K
Not a pro either. Maybe one will chime in.
I would attach feathers to the bumper. They make it a little more exciting for the pup. Move to the hall like was already said. Shorter retrieves and only two or three at a time.
I only praise for the correct out come. If the pup doesn't retrive I say nothing.
Pups learn by trial and error. If I praise the unwanted behavior how is he to know it from the other.

Shopping with your husband is like hunting with the game warden.
Experience is what you get, when you didn't get what you wanted.

Re: 8 Week Old Luke Retrieving [Re: kindall] #3162313 04/15/12 10:22 PM
IronSpikeLabs Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker