Print Thread
Can ducks have worms? #280290 12/19/07 03:30 AM
C
catfish89 Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
C
I'm a first time "poster" and a self taught novice duck hunter who still has alot of questions. I have shot a fair share of ducks over the last three years but had a first this weekend. Shot a pintail drake and when I cleaned it it looked to have worms. Very similar to those found in a large mouth bass. Located between the muscle striations in the breast. Could have been fat deposits but I don't recall seeing anything like it in the past. Enlighten me por favor.

Re: Can ducks have worms? [Re: catfish89] #280291 12/19/07 03:42 AM
F
FamousAmos Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
F
I remember a similar post last year along with photos confirming this. I believe the consensus was to chunk the bird.

“And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.”
‭‭Micah‬ ‭6:8‬
Re: Can ducks have worms? [Re: catfish89] #280292 12/19/07 03:42 AM
kwrhuntinglab Offline
"The Guardian"
"The Guardian"
It is a parasite, call rice disease.....
Not harmful to humans, nasty to look at......
Most throw it away and don't even eat it, but if cooked good, is not harmful...

http://www.dnr.state.md.us/wildlife/sarcocystis.html

Last edited by kwrhuntinglab; 12/19/07 03:43 AM.

Spend time with the ones you love. Time is not guaranteed.
Re: Can ducks have worms? [Re: kwrhuntinglab] #280293 12/19/07 03:56 AM
N
NorthTexasHunt Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
N
catfish89,

First off, welcome to THF.

If you have free ranged chickens you don't eat, only harvesting eggs, don't even bother to cook it, otherwise toss it out in the yard "well done". Something will eat it... nothing goes to waste here. There is absolutely no reason to discard it without value!

At least throw it in a pot and let the larvae comingle with the rice as they cook..your dogs will love the protein and starches all the same, especially on cold nights.