Print Thread
Deer management question #2791904 11/29/11 02:27 AM
A
adafire726 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
A
I have a 1000 acre lease in southern Oklahoma. We have had this lease for quite a while. We have never done "management" hunts for anyone, just killed what we are allowed (6 bucks total). This year it seems that all the bucks we are seeing are 8's. Does it help to take the 8's and below off or are the genetics too deep to make any difference? I was thinking about selling some management hunts next year which would include an 8 point or lower and a doe.

Last edited by adafire726; 11/29/11 02:29 AM.
Re: Deer management question [Re: adafire726] #2791917 11/29/11 02:30 AM
B
Bulldog4949 Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
B
I am not an expert. But an 8 point that is 4.5 yr old or older should be taken. Most people like to have their 4.5+ at least 9-10 pts or bigger.

Just depends on your land and caliber of deer around in Oklahoma. Your land, your call.

Good luck in your adventure.

JB European Mounts
Professional Skull Cleaning
(806) 683-3739
jbeuropeanmounts@yahoo.com
Re: Deer management question [Re: adafire726] #2791935 11/29/11 02:32 AM
J
JCB Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
J
Free range right??? You aint going to change the genetics by harvesting those deer. Those genetics were likely in place long before you or me were ever put on this earth.

Re: Deer management question [Re: JCB] #2791953 11/29/11 02:36 AM
A
adafire726 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
A
Yes, it is free range. I figure it is what it is. I have taken some nice 10 points off this place that were mature (41/2 to 71/2). I guess it is just not my year.

Re: Deer management question [Re: adafire726] #2792003 11/29/11 02:47 AM
B
Bulldog4949 Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
B