Print Thread
Duck Boat Preference #1041882 11/17/09 06:41 AM
C
cbrown46 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
C
I currently have an old 16ft monark jon with a 24hp long tail honda go devil on the rear. I'm looking to upgrade my boat after the season and was wondering what brand of boat everyone likes. I really like the go devil brand but don't have the funds since I'm a college student. I'm looking for a boat with no keels but still with the right chine to handle turns well. Give me some suggestions if there are any weldbuilt custom boats ect. Also, what kind of rigs do you have or have had in the past and what did you like/dislike about them.

Thanks!

Re: Duck Boat Preference [Re: cbrown46] #1042469 11/17/09 03:58 PM
T
TexasEd Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
T
Your boat sounds perfect for your stage in life. I wouldn't upgrade until you graduate and get a steady income.

I've been out of college for umpteen years and still don't have a boat.

Last edited by TexasEd; 11/17/09 03:59 PM.

Re: Duck Boat Preference [Re: TexasEd] #1042499 11/17/09 04:08 PM
T
TBK Offline
Tracker
Tracker
T
I agree. If you want to upgrade, really upgrade. Otherwise, stick with what you got. If I was buying today, I'd get a GatorHide.

Re: Duck Boat Preference [Re: cbrown46] #1042884 11/17/09 06:21 PM
W
wal1809 Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
W
Here is the deal. The major brand motors all run exceptionally well. If you look in all the videos notice this one thing. It looks like they are running on no water and they are. Look closely on every video you see, the prop drops into the mud really easy. Well every mud motor can run on no water if the mud is just silt. If the prop can bite into it then they can all run through it.