Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Building a bolt action rifle #9078832 07/19/24 10:42 PM
R
rolyat.nosaj Online Content OP
Veteran Tracker
OP Online Content
Veteran Tracker
R
Im getting interested in putting together a rifle. Im completely new at it and looking for some insight on what the order of operations are. Where to get the parts. What different options I have in the process. Can educate me on it and start the conversation about it for others too. Thanks.

Re: Building a bolt action rifle [Re: rolyat.nosaj] #9078838 07/19/24 10:58 PM
J.G. Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
Pick your bullet.
Decide how fast you want it to go.
Decide what barrel length you want.
That will all help pick your cartridge.

Barrel contour. Do you want a heavy barrel for extended shot strings, or a lightweight barrel for carrying and hunting? Or do you want something in between?

Look at actions that suite you well. If you're going all in, it makes more sense to buy a custom action, or for money savings and a great action, a Tikka action re-purposed. Unless it's a long action magnum. Their feed ramp can hand-cuff you.

You might as well plan on a great trigger. Trigger Tech and Timney are the only two brands I consider. What weight trigger pull do you want?

Look at stocks you like.

What type or magazine? Hinged floor plate? Detachable bottom metal? Flush mount mag? Or a 5 or 10 round A.I. mag that hangs down?

Brake on the muzzle? Suppressor on the muzzle? Nothing on the muzzle?

What Cerakote colors do you want on the barreled action and on the stock?

[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: Building a bolt action rifle [Re: rolyat.nosaj] #9078843 07/19/24 11:06 PM
M
MClark Online Content
Tracker
Online Content
Tracker
M
What is your budget?
What are you using it for? Multitasker rifles are seldom optional for anything.

Re: Building a bolt action rifle [Re: rolyat.nosaj] #9078848 07/19/24 11:17 PM
J