Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: 6.5 Creedmoore and deer hunting ? [Re: 10 Gauge] #9008652 02/20/24 09:04 PM
H
Hudbone Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
H
Originally Posted by Bryan C. Heimann
This is going to sound absurd to some of ya’ll, and I am not a fan of any cartridge with “creedmoor” in the name because I am suspicious of anything as aggressively marketed as 6.5 Creedmoor. Also I am not an expert by any means. But the honest to goodness truth is that the 6.5 creedmoor is probably going to replace the .308.

When I was 19 looking for a deer rifle the .308 was the number one reccomendation by most people for that good first rifle, reasonable recoil lots of killing power, and common.

Now we got the 6.5 Creedmoor, a near ballistic twin to the 6.5 Swede and ammo and rifles literally everywhere you can buy a rifle.

I still would rather have a .308, it is easily a better cartridge to me inside 300 yards. But just in case it gets treated like 30-30 did come next shortage, might want to have a 6.5 creedmoor too.

Gotta face facts. 6.5 creedmoor is enough gun and good factory loads abound.

Replace the venerable 308? Blaspheme!

Re: 6.5 Creedmoore and deer hunting ? [Re: Hudbone] #9008669 02/20/24 09:42 PM
U
unclebubba Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
U
Originally Posted by Hudbone
This is going to sound absurd to some of ya’ll, and I am not a fan of any cartridge with “creedmoor” in the name because I am suspicious of anything as aggressively marketed as 6.5 Creedmoor. Also I am not an expert by any means. But the honest to goodness truth is that the 6.5 creedmoor is probably going to replace the .308.

When I was 19 looking for a deer rifle the .308 was the number one reccomendation by most people for that good first rifle, reasonable recoil lots of killing power, and common.

Now we got the 6.5 Creedmoor, a near ballistic twin to the 6.5 Swede and ammo and rifles literally everywhere you can buy a rifle.