Page 1 of 2 1 2
Honest Opinion — Is a Boat Worth It? #8734750 11/15/22 02:58 PM
S
steventtu Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
S
So, I'll start by saying that I'm fairly new to duck hunting. This is my third season, but I'm absolutely loving everything about it. I've hunted public land and small water so far, with decent success—limits are rare, but I generally get a bird or two, so no complaints. My question is, do you think it's worth taking the next step and going with a duck boat?

I know there's much more to hunting than just shooting ducks, but do the more experienced hunters out there think that having access to a boat increases your overall success? Or is it more about the experience of loading up the boat and cruising to a new area? The only reason I ask is because I see a lot of big lake hunters talk about how horrible the hunting is, so I don't want to invest in something that just doesn't make sense. I'm guessing that I just hear about the bad hunts on forums, though, and there are probably more successful hunts than I realize.

I have a 15-foot aluminum boat that I'm refurbishing, and I'm considering getting a 20hp in the next few months so I can put a boat in the mix next season. Anyways, I'd love to hear your opinion on the boat vs no-boat debate!

Re: Honest Opinion — Is a Boat Worth It? [Re: steventtu] #8734797 11/15/22 03:48 PM
J
jnd59 Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
J
I think a boat helps enormously unless you are only hunting tanks or small lakes. Least of which is in the hunting. Mostly it helps in the scouting. Many spots can be walked to but few can be effectively scouted without a boat. At least in Texas, OK, LA and AR. Further north you can scout by truck. The hours I put on my motor scouting are about 5 times the hours I put on it hunting. You don't necessarily need a surface drive or longtail to scout but it helps. Having the boat is the biggest plus.

No matter how high a duck flies a hammer still breaks a window.