N
Nogalus Prairie Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
N
Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Originally Posted By: TexFlip
Originally Posted By: skinnerback
Sapper has given some good responses, but (as I'm still learning) once you engage in an ignorant thread it is only going to end up more ignorant most of the time. Sapper is not ignorant, nor am I or many others on here. Some of us have been hunting safely for a long time and find it strange that there is this new phenomenon of safety that we didn't already know bout. Soooooo, you see your target through your top dollar binos..positively identify, put them down, pick up your rifle and probably then chamber a round because you have little to no real hunting experience outside of internet forums & TV and are most likely scared of the rifle anyway and don't understand the concept of being quiet and quick....so you then carefully slide your rifle out of the window of your blind and pray that there are no innocents in or behind your field of view. You want to make the shot but you are so nervous about what your wife thinks there is no WAY you are going to make a quick and humane kill...so you get the shakes and shoot for lungs. When you don't find your animal, you blame the rifle/bullet/scope/weather/whatever. I've seen it many times and is typical. On private land where you know your surroundings of course you scan with your scope when you need to. How many of you have been stalking/rattling deer during the rut covering good sized areas? You do a lot of looking with your rifle on the ready at your shoulders, while your partner is calling. Guess we're stupid and are gonna shoot somebody. Good lord man.
flehan

Exactly.

So the guys that use binoculars to scan for game are the TV hunters/newbies now?