Print Thread
Looking for some help #6782444 06/03/17 05:49 AM
R
r_mcgee Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
R
I have been wanting to get some good optics for awhile, and it's been on my mind a lot recently. So I need some help figuring out what I need. I have only had/used cheap binoculars in the past so I don't have a comparison to mid to high quality optics. I'm planning ahead so I don't have a budget to help limit options. I would like to be able to get the best for my usage without paying extra for something that is more than what I would need.(If that makes sense)

I would like a pair of binoculars, and am also interested in a rangefinder.I know they make combos but with my lack of knowledge I don't know if I should be looking at them or looking for separate products.

I have never used a rangefinder before so while I like the idea of one I don't actually know how much use it would be. Until I can have one in my hand and use it for some time I don't know how much I would use it.

About the only thing I can think of that I would care about is that I don't want to have to treat anything like spun sugar. I don't plan to run over them with a truck or shoot at them mind you, but I don't want something that would get messed up being bounced around in the back seat of the truck or thrown around in a pack. This might not be an issue if all the options would qualify, but my lack of experience and knowledge means I don't even know that much.

I have probably left something out so ask any questions that might help to narrow things down. If there's some good information out there that might help me to understand what I need to look for, great. So far anything I have tried to find and read up on has been pretty bla on helping me to narrow things down.

Re: Looking for some help [Re: r_mcgee] #6782478 06/03/17 12:14 PM
J.G. Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity