Print Thread
Page 2 of 13 1 2 3 4 12 13
Re: TPWD Paper on Spikes [Re: rifleman] #4459365 08/08/13 03:18 PM
K
Kenneth1977 Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
K
I have been hunting for around 24 yrs and i have been lucky to have hunted in a lot of counties and have scene that this can go both ways as stated by others !!! If there is a chance that a spike that is on his first set of horns and is only 3 or 4 '' tall and has good mass and not all messed up to me i would rather wait and see what happens..... but it's hard to keep an eye on them and track them if your not high fenced ( IMO )
Also take in account that a spike might be one that is going to bread many does at all because it will most like be rejected by the doe or ran off by other bigger bucks .Just my .02!

Re: TPWD Paper on Spikes [Re: stxranchman] #4459374 08/08/13 03:20 PM
R
rifleman Offline
Sparkly Pants
Sparkly Pants
R
It takes away from the genetic argument, IMO. Ppl who never feed protein should have smaller deer than those who do.....

Re: TPWD Paper on Spikes [Re: rifleman] #4459378 08/08/13 03:22 PM
S
stxranchman Offline
Obie Juan Kenobi
Obie Juan Kenobi
S
Originally Posted By: rifleman
It takes away from the genetic argument, IMO. Ppl who never feed protein should have smaller deer than those who do.....

Nope it just shows that feed is not the issue. Shows that even on low quality habitat or drought years that better genetics should outshine the poorer genetics.

Are idiots multiplying faster than normal people?[Linked Image]
Re: TPWD Paper on Spikes [Re: stxranchman] #4459395 08/08/13 03:28 PM
BOBO the Clown Online Content
kind of a big deal
Online Content
kind of a big deal
Your last paragraph is my point.

20years is a life time for most hunters.