Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
AA0605, HookEm01, Gambler 25-06, JWRivette, Adchunts
60416 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77345
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43780
BOBO the Clown 41084
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33682
bill oxner 32594
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30562
facebook
Forum Stats
60416 Members
45 Forums
475635 Topics
6239471 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#5606222 - 02/18/15 11:01 AM Dropping power from a power pole
Junebug Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 190
Loc: Fort Worth
We have a power pole next to our camp site at the lease with no meter or transformer on it. Does any one know the cost of having the electric company drop a line and meter. The camp is less than 40 yards from the road.

Top
#5606244 - 02/18/15 11:07 AM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 12/14/08
Posts: 14901
Loc: North Texas - God's Country
It should be free out to a distance from the pole.
_________________________
Cast



I have a short attention spa

Top
#5606294 - 02/18/15 11:30 AM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
oldoak2000 Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 09/16/07
Posts: 2041
Loc: Denton, TX
Contact pwr company for specifics.
Often you'll have to pay for a temp Power Pole with meter box & breaker-box ($500 new, $200+/- used on craigslist) if you have no permanent building within couple hundred feet of existing pole.
They pay for everything up to the meter-box for the distances you mention (doesn't sound like any additional hi-volt poles needed).

Top
#5606311 - 02/18/15 11:42 AM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
Ron H Offline
Pro Tracker

Registered: 08/10/08
Posts: 1467
Loc: Dallas; hunt Palo Pinto
We checked this out in Palo Pinto County with United Electric. They wanted $600 for transformer installation and $500+ for meter loop then we had to run to trailers from pole. It was going to be about $10,000 where we did not have a pole for them to run new service.

Top
#5606337 - 02/18/15 11:51 AM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
Navasot Online   content
Natty Love

Registered: 09/22/11
Posts: 25909
Loc: Normangee/Navasota TX
_________________________


http://www.j5tractors.com/

Top
#5606403 - 02/18/15 12:22 PM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
22hemi13 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 12/24/14
Posts: 166
Loc: Central tx
Yep call co-op. $800 for me to have a meter set at a pole that already has transformer. 200a service. It cost $1,500 to have em set a pole and run it over 75ft. Sad that they used to do it for free to get the service. Then days are gone

Top
#5606607 - 02/18/15 02:12 PM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
Junebug Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 11/06/11
Posts: 190
Loc: Fort Worth
Wow, we have to pay them to set up power, so we can pay them to use the power. I guess they gotta make their money.


Edited by Junebug (02/18/15 02:13 PM)
Edit Reason: Spelling

Top
#5607079 - 02/18/15 05:31 PM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
22hemi13 Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 12/24/14
Posts: 166
Loc: Central tx
Solar looks better and better. If the initial just wasn't sooooooooooooo expensive

Top
#5607175 - 02/18/15 06:15 PM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
ccrock Offline
Tracker

Registered: 03/09/12
Posts: 588
Loc: Midland hunt Val Verde
Been there and done that. If I remember Oncor will run power 90 feet from a transformer and tie into the weather head. We were responsible for breaker, meter box, weather head , pole and wiring. I think we spent 500-700 to get it set up.

Top
#5607564 - 02/18/15 09:37 PM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: ccrock]
Texas Dan Online   content
THF Celebrity

Registered: 07/28/08
Posts: 11238
Originally Posted By: ccrock
Been there and done that. If I remember Oncor will run power 90 feet from a transformer and tie into the weather head. We were responsible for breaker, meter box, weather head , pole and wiring. I think we spent 500-700 to get it set up.


Yes, a transformer is required anytime power is dropped down from a higher-voltage transmission line.

Some places sell "trailer poles" made ready to go with the weather head, meter base, and breaker box. Some may even include a outlet box.

Pick a day when the 4-6ft ground rod can be driven into the ground with greater ease.

If an existing transformer is nearby, connection charges should be much lower.
_________________________
Dan,

Spring, Texas

Top
#5607769 - 02/19/15 06:13 AM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
Western Offline
THF Celebrity

Registered: 04/20/11
Posts: 23579
Loc: Wise County Texas
As said, you will have to call the utility where your pole is. My Co-op (Tri-county) will run main lines for new service, supply a 200a transformer and will go 100' to your supplied pole/w drop attached. I bought a 200a meter pole pre-made from Simms on Ft Worth HWY in Weatherford for about $500, think they are $600 now.
_________________________
Friends don't let Friends drink and post.......

The first 5 day's after the weekend, are the hardest....

Dennis


Top
#5607779 - 02/19/15 06:23 AM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
Dry Fire Offline


Registered: 06/15/09
Posts: 2725
Loc: Huntsville, AL
I remember when it used to be free. But that was 25 years ago and everyone paid a tax on their electric bill to supply electricity in rural areas.
_________________________
After Monday and Tuesday, even the calendar says W T F

Top
#5607791 - 02/19/15 06:34 AM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
spg Offline
Tracker

Registered: 08/11/13
Posts: 903
If the pole and transformer already exists, all you have to do is install the schedule 80 conduit (3ft in ground and the sweep has to be 7in away from the pole minimum) and have your electrical panel on your camp/house wired to take power. They will install the wire and terminate it in the meter and your panel, you will have to pay a hook up fee which should be less than $200. Been there done that less than a year ago.

Top
#5607921 - 02/19/15 08:24 AM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Dry Fire]
oldoak2000 Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 09/16/07
Posts: 2041
Loc: Denton, TX
Originally Posted By: Dry Fire
I remember when it used to be free. But that was 25 years ago and everyone paid a tax on their electric bill to supply electricity in rural areas.


If it's to a home (permanent building) it is usually still 'free' to the meterbox;
for 'recreational' drops many utilities now charge various amounts for the drop, and especially to extend the HV poles (like $1200 - $1500 ea).

Top
#5608702 - 02/19/15 04:13 PM Re: Dropping power from a power pole [Re: Junebug]
txvarminter Offline
Veteran Tracker

Registered: 02/11/08
Posts: 3002
Loc: Abilene, Texas
We got the land owner to sign a 3 year contract so it was only $250
_________________________

www.circle66.com
Originally Posted By: Ramball36
My opinion is go with the fatties!

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide