Page 1 of 2 1 2
Need Advice from Seasoned Deer Folk... #5280277 08/30/14 05:55 PM
J
JGilbert Offline OP
Extreme Tracker
OP Offline
Extreme Tracker
J
I just purchased land that hasn't been hunted in 10 years or so. The Land is heavily wooded on three sides, like a giant U shape, with the opening facing a 40 acre field. I know the deer are there as I ran right upon a buck last night in the UTV.

Here are my questions (I apologize if they are dumb, I am new to setting up land)

1- Should I mow inside the opening of the U ? Land is overgrown with thickets and grass is 3' tall.
2- Is it too late to setup a feeder and do I mow where the feeder will be set? (I have feeder, and salt block, attractants)
3- Should I setup the ground blind now?

Season Opens Oct 1st, so only one month... thanks for any advice anyone can offer.

Rise, PeTA , Kill and Eat! (Acts 10:13, slightly modified!)
Re: Need Advice from Seasoned Deer Folk... [Re: JGilbert] #5280298 08/30/14 06:09 PM
R
redseal Offline
Tracker
Tracker
R
You're going to get a lot of different answers but here you go.

1- Up to you don't know why you would mow unless you like it to be mowed.
2- Never too late. Is you're feeder going to be in the open area? If so I would mow around the feeder 3 foot tall grass is hard to see through.
3- You'll get many different answers on this but I say yes.

Re: Need Advice from Seasoned Deer Folk... [Re: JGilbert] #5280303 08/30/14 06:10 PM
S
stxranchman Offline
Obie Juan Kenobi
Obie Juan Kenobi
S