Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
dreeves, TRog34, Togurt, Bigford, garcalo
60431 Registered Users
Top Posters
dogcatcher 77377
stxranchman 52092
RWH24 44568
rifleman 43783
BOBO the Clown 41086
BMD 40539
Big Orn 37484
txshntr 33683
bill oxner 32624
sig226fan (Rguns.com) 30570
facebook
Forum Stats
60431 Members
45 Forums
475785 Topics
6241499 Posts

Max Online: 16728 @ 03/25/12 08:51 AM
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#4905097 - 01/12/14 09:48 AM Question about CBE sight
wburke2010 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 06/26/13
Posts: 4687
Loc: Nevada, TX
I am wanting to get a new sight for my bow. I have been looking at the CBE tek hybrid. For those of you that use it, do you like the fixed pins and ability to dial like a single pin. I would think that is the best of both worlds but not sure if I like the feature or not.

Walter

Top
#4905650 - 01/12/14 03:25 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
Nolan Outdoors Offline
Woodsman

Registered: 12/27/13
Posts: 222
Loc: Blanchard, OK
Black Gold Ascent will do the same thing for less money. You can get one in 3 or 5 pins and with a 4" dovetail. A G5 Optix XR2 will do the same thing in a little different way. I have an elk hunting buddy that shoots a G5 and likes it. I guess if you plan to shot way out there it might work okay for a fellow. hope that helps.

_________________________
Field Staff:
Black Eagle Arrows
Grim Reaper Broadheads
Hips Targets
Covert Hunting Blinds

www.nolanoutdoors.com



Top
#4907553 - 01/13/14 12:33 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
BOBO the Clown Online   content
decoy

Registered: 04/19/07
Posts: 41086
Loc: Metroplex
Originally Posted By: wburke2010
I am wanting to get a new sight for my bow. I have been looking at the CBE tek hybrid. For those of you that use it, do you like the fixed pins and ability to dial like a single pin. I would think that is the best of both worlds but not sure if I like the feature or not.

Walter


the beauty of the CBE site is you can change site housing in seconds from single to multi pin.

I use three pins 30, 40, 50 and dial to 110.

Dialing is pretty effortless, very simple, what I like vs some of the other sliding sites like spott or montanta, is the angled veiw on the inside view of your site tape. Meaning you can dail with draw hand and never have to move or angle the bow to see distance tape or mark.

Another beauty is you can order it with any pin color or size config. 2-.10 and one .19. Green, red, green etc

Top
#4908460 - 01/13/14 07:03 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
wburke2010 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 06/26/13
Posts: 4687
Loc: Nevada, TX
Thanks for the info bobo.

Walter

Top
#4908478 - 01/13/14 07:13 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
BOBO the Clown Online   content
decoy

Registered: 04/19/07
Posts: 41086
Loc: Metroplex
Originally Posted By: wburke2010
Thanks for the info bobo.

Walter


Oh, if you get on pass on the yellow, only one that's not real bright

Top
#4908510 - 01/13/14 07:30 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
wburke2010 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 06/26/13
Posts: 4687
Loc: Nevada, TX
10-4. What size pins do you like. I have shot and killed animals to 40 yards. But that was the farthest pin I had. I would like to extend that to 50 if I had the need.

Walter

Top
#4908519 - 01/13/14 07:34 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
BOBO the Clown Online   content
decoy

Registered: 04/19/07
Posts: 41086
Loc: Metroplex
I like .19 on top .10 on bottom

green, red, green

That's just me.

That slider is addicting once you set it up. Shooting 70, 80, 90, 100 plus will really help you shot so much better at 30 and 40.

Top
#4908527 - 01/13/14 07:37 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
wburke2010 Online   content
Extreme Tracker

Registered: 06/26/13
Posts: 4687
Loc: Nevada, TX
I know that is the truth. I took archery for my pe class in college last year and the coach knew I could shoot a bow so I just did my thing and shot at 40 yards twice a week for two hours at a time for three months or whatever it was which made me feel really comfortable taking that shot on ram.

Do you have to make your own yardage tape or can they make one for you with your speeds and what not.

Walter

Top
#4932635 - 01/24/14 09:59 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
jsix321 Offline
Bird Dog

Registered: 01/06/11
Posts: 262
Loc: Weatherford, TX
I have tek hybrid 4 pin on my two hunting setups, 20-30-40-50 and love them. One thing I did do is change the fibers to Scotts tough fibers, their crazy bright and flexible. I shoot all .10 pins and if I was doing it again probably would've went with a .19 on my first pin. Most hunting shots I take seem to be in the 15 to 25 yard range so a larger pin would stand out better on those bread and butter shots. As far as the sight tapes, it comes with them and you can also get your shop to help you with a custom tape or figure out which one to use. They have a computer program for this.

Top
#4935031 - 01/26/14 03:52 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
BOBO the Clown Online   content
decoy

Registered: 04/19/07
Posts: 41086
Loc: Metroplex
Originally Posted By: wburke2010
I know that is the truth. I took archery for my pe class in college last year and the coach knew I could shoot a bow so I just did my thing and shot at 40 yards twice a week for two hours at a time for three months or whatever it was which made me feel really comfortable taking that shot on ram.

Do you have to make your own yardage tape or can they make one for you with your speeds and what not.

Walter


Site comes with about 10 different takes, and a gauge. Gauge takes your 30 pin and 60 pin and then tells you what tape to use

Top
#5432319 - 11/19/14 08:33 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: jsix321]
vahunter70 Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 11/19/14
Posts: 3
Jsix,
I have the tek hybrid and I'm going to use the tough fibers .
My question is when you put the fiber in your pins did you flare the ends? If not how did u cut them.
Thanks for your help.

Top
#5432339 - 11/19/14 08:41 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
BOBO the Clown Online   content
decoy

Registered: 04/19/07
Posts: 41086
Loc: Metroplex
I don't think the cbe rhino pins are flared. 99.9 positive but I have been wrong before...couple years back smile


Well I checked my hybrid isn't flared

Top
#5432801 - 11/20/14 07:10 AM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: BOBO the Clown]
vahunter70 Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 11/19/14
Posts: 3
So should I cut the fiber off at the end of the pin or let them protrude just a bit.

Top
#5432838 - 11/20/14 07:37 AM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: wburke2010]
BOBO the Clown Online   content
decoy

Registered: 04/19/07
Posts: 41086
Loc: Metroplex
Protruding a tad past the end

Top
#5433670 - 11/20/14 01:28 PM Re: Question about CBE sight [Re: BOBO the Clown]
vahunter70 Offline
Green Horn

Registered: 11/19/14
Posts: 3
Thanks for the info HoBo. Your above comments about the yellow fiber is correct, does not light up well. That's the one that broke on mine. I have the 3 pin model, so I'm going to go with all green .019 fibers from Scott's "tough fiber." Hope they are as above mentioned.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



© 2004-2016 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide