Page 1 of 2 1 2
Budget duck hunting #1743587 10/13/10 02:23 AM
N
Nonus Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
N
Hello, I am fairly new to hunting. I am 26 years old and only hunted for the last couple years. Mainly dove and some deer and I want to duck hunt. My question is would I be wasting my time trying to duck hunt without a boat or dog? Is it possible and worthwhile to go out with just some waders, decoys, some camo and a shotgun? I want to learn to call as well but I think id do more harm than good trying to call my first hunt. Anyway, any tips for an aspiring duck hunter are very welcome.

Re: Budget duck hunting [Re: Nonus] #1743691 10/13/10 02:41 AM
H
Heisman25g Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
H
To be honest, I would hire a guide to go on your first hunt. Lots of good ones on here that have everyones respect and plenty of proof that they know what they are doing. Anyway, when you go, ask plenty of questions, take plenty of mental notes, and this will be your crash course into duck hunting. In my opinion there is no better way to do it and this experience will save you a ton of time in the long run. Safe hunting and hope this helps

Re: Budget duck hunting [Re: Heisman25g] #1743807 10/13/10 03:02 AM
T
TrackQuack Offline
Tracker
Tracker
T
JJ, who is Whiskey&Me on here is a guide who offers a trip where he actually helps you understand duck hunting, gives you tips, and answers questions, I think his site is kentoutdoors.com could be wrong, if you aren't in the Dallas area he probably knows someone in your area who would be good to learn from.

Re: Budget duck hunting [Re: TrackQuack] #1743872 10/13/10 03:10 AM
D
duckiller Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
D