Print Thread
Turkey Rookie has Questions #1309676 03/15/10 09:39 PM
K
kingbert23 Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
K
Hey guys, I am new to turkey hunting. I have never been turkey hunting in my life. So, when I say Rookie I mean Rookie!!

I have a turkey hunt coming up. I have three days, no guide to get my limit.

My questions to you are:
1. What do I need in way of gear (clothing, calls, gun, etc.)?
2. What is the best way to go about getting a turkey?
3. If I am lucky enough to kill one, what do I do with it --eat or mount??
4. Give me the underlying rules of turkey hunting that a rookie would not know.

Thanks in advance. I want to make this fun. I don't really want to be a pain in someone's side -- especially the GW!

brian@caprockins.com
Re: Turkey Rookie has Questions [Re: kingbert23] #1309733 03/15/10 10:08 PM
C
Capt.Engine2 Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
C
A piece of gear that gets over looked is a pair of pruning shears. This way you can trim a few of those twigs that stab you in the back. And being comfortable is key. If you’re not comfortable you won't be still. And a turkey has amazing vision. I think they can see you blink sometimes. Also I made the mistake of being impatient my first few times. Just because one doesn't answer right away give it time. It's not always like on tv where you just walk till one answers. I stay on a set up at least 30 minutes. Plus don't overcall. Many times those old Toms will gobble at first then go silent. This doesn’t mean he's not coming. He very well may be on his way. It's tough. I deer hunted my whole life, but didn't start spring turkey hunting till about 5 years ago. It is a blast. Nothing like it. Good luck. I prefer a mouth call. But that's just a preference. 12 gauge with turkey loads. Full Camo, including face and gun. Be still and have your gun up before you see him. Go get em!

Re: Turkey Rookie has Questions [Re: kingbert23] #1309761 03/15/10 10:27 PM
R
RICK O'SHAY Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter