Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Cost of Shooting my Dog #114864 11/29/06 07:14 PM
C
Cast and Blast Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
C
I would like to know what others thoughts are on this subject.
I am a hunting guide I make my living by taking strangers hunting and fishing. I have a very impressive safety record and give a very stern warning to all that hunt with me on what I expect as far as safety goes.
Part of that warning goes to say " Don't Shoot my dogs ". If you shoot my dogs you will be held responsible. Well right before Thanksgiving I had a dog shot. NO it did not kill the dog but it did require treatment at the vet and I wont be able to hunt the dog until January.
Now my question to you is this.
If you did this how much would you expect to pay to compensate ME.
Please take into account that if I can not guide hunts then I do not make a living. So even though the dog is still alive I am not able to work.
Also I know this will be brought up. Charge him for the cost of a new dog. It is very difficult to purchase a good reliable dog after the start of bird season. A started dog yes but a finished dog is very expensive during bird season.
Please let me know how much you would expect to pay.

Re: Cost of Shooting my Dog [Re: Cast and Blast] #114865 11/29/06 07:22 PM
HWY_MAN Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
Very sorry your dog got shot.

But there's a whole lot of variables that come into play.

How did he get shot?
Was there a signed agreement as to penalty for shooting a dog?

I would hope the hunter would automatically assume full responsibility and take care of any costs, irregardless of how the dog got shot, but there's always that one who's gonna say " that's the cost of doing business ".

Yes! A Weatherby does kill them deader.
Re: Cost of Shooting my Dog [Re: Cast and Blast] #114866 11/29/06 07:22 PM
S
Sethfish Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
S