Texas Hunting Forum

veteran exotic hunt

Posted By: bassmastar34

veteran exotic hunt - 02/27/22 06:26 AM

I am running the numbers to set up a nonprofit for disabled vets. just curious from ranch owners/outfitters what is yalls experience? As a vet myself I would love to give back but I have seen the dark side of "the vet hustle" and do not want to pay for hunts for people who do not need or deserve it. I have connections and the means to provide opportunity to people who need it but am reluctant
Posted By: EddieWalker

Re: veteran exotic hunt - 02/28/22 03:13 PM

"the vet hustle" sums it up about right. I was in the Marine Corps, and I think it's embarrassing to see so many people begging for free hunts because they served. Sadly, most of the beggars are the ones who have ruined it for those that might really deserve the generosity offered by outfitters and land owners. My time in the Marines taught me to work hard for what I want, and not be afraid to push myself. When I want to go on a hunt, I work harder, save up the money and research where to go, because of the discipline and drive that I gained from being a Marine, I've been able to do this on several occasions. To make more money, I changed jobs for higher pay, and eventually started my own business remodeling homes to make even more money. If you want to have the money to go on a hunt, you have to figure out how to earn more money, not beg for handouts and rely on a sad story for free stuff.

Having said that, there are Disabled Veterans that have overcome their sacrifice, and pain, that more than deserve some sort of reward for what they went through in serving our country. They are not beggars trying to take advantage, they are fighters. I admire what they have accomplished, and support any and all efforts that show appreciation, with whatever we have to share with them.
Posted By: Clark8907

Re: veteran exotic hunt - 02/28/22 05:09 PM