Texas Hunting Forum

Crockett County Turkey

Posted By: GameChaser

Crockett County Turkey - 04/26/23 08:56 PM

Any reports from anyone down in the Crockett County area? I plan on heading out to Ozona this weekend. Also any tips for a later season turkey hunt? Im fairly new to Turkey hunting and will take any advice you guys got!
Posted By: LarryCopper

Re: Crockett County Turkey - 04/27/23 04:25 PM

They're unpredictable most of the time, but late season can work in your favor. Lots of hens will be nesting already, so toms usually are more receptive since they won't be as henned up. I wouldn't give up too early in the morning either, mid day can be a good time for the same reason.

Hopefully they're gobbling for ya. If so try to find the roost and setup close to it. Call lightly at or just before fly down to let 'em know you're there. Then run and gun from there, that's the fun way to go. If they're being quiet I'd setup somewhere that you'd expect them to be, like on the edge of a pasture or pinch point. Settle in and give it some time cuz the dominant tom isn't always the biggest. Subordinate toms that are tired of getting their arses kicked will come in quiet. You don't have to go nuts calling, just a bit every 15 to 30 minutes. If they're around they'll hear ya. If you get one fired up then call more at him as long as he's responding. Purr if he hangs up.

Last year I didn't kill one at the lease till May. We don't have a ton of birds and they don't roost there. He didn't start showing up until then when all his wimmens started nesting.

Re: Crockett County Turkey - 04/27/23 05:09 PM

Great information, Thank you for the advice!

Re: Crockett County Turkey - 04/27/23 05:10 PM

Originally Posted by LarryCopper