Texas Hunting Forum

Turkey hunting rookie

Posted By: jcarlson91

Turkey hunting rookie - 04/11/11 02:08 PM

Hey guys,
I've never turkey hunted before and I'm going to give it a shot this weekend at my lease. I'm new to my lease (in Cisco 1100 acres) they say we have a lot of turkeys so who knows. I need advice on calls, strategies, decoys, time of day, and even size of shot. Thanks I'd really appreciate it!
Josh texas

Posted By: scot

Re: Turkey hunting rookie - 04/11/11 02:55 PM

The best thing I did besides hunting with someone who knew what they were doing was to sit and watch hunting shows with a turkey call. Make the same sounds and try to pick up on when they call and how much.

Anything 4-6 in a turkey load will be just fine.

Posted By: meredj

Re: Turkey hunting rookie - 04/11/11 02:58 PM

A slate call would probably be easiest for ya. Get you a hen decoy and stick it out about 25 yards from you and call every once in a while. try not to over call this is easy to do. It would be good if you could roost the birds the night before but if not try to set up near creeks with tall large trees. It will probably be a learning experience for you the first few times out but you may get lucky and take a bird the first time out. Lets us know how everything goes

Posted By: Sooner N TX

Re: Turkey hunting rookie - 04/11/11 04:38 PM

Check your pattern. What I mean is see how your ammo works with your gun. It may be a shotgun, but you are using it almost like a rifle when you get an ultra tight choke and a larger size shot.

I have a buddy that thought I was crazy when I told him this, but was supprised when his pattern hit 6" lower than his bead at 15yds.

Re: Turkey hunting rookie - 04/11/11 07:38 PM

Ok thanks! I'm going to buy a call and decoy from Cabelas tomorrow.

Posted By: Huntsmanda

Re: Turkey hunting rookie - 04/11/11 08:46 PM

'91,