Texas Hunting Forum

Need major help

Posted By: Gw123

Need major help - 02/09/21 02:22 AM

I’ve been calling for 6 years now and I’ve only managed to call in one grey fox that’s at the taxidermist now.

I’ve tried all different sounds, times of the day, all weather conditions, playing the call quiet then loud, playing the call for long periods of time continuously, playing for a minute or two then stopping for a few minutes and playing again, I play the wind the best that I can and wait 15-30 minutes when I get settled in to play the call. I’ve tried everything I can think of and cannot seem to get coyotes or anything for that matter called in. I’m looking for any advice or suggestions. Thanks y’all
Posted By: Biscuit

Re: Need major help - 02/09/21 03:57 AM

Do you think you actually have predators in your area ?
Posted By: BigPig

Re: Need major help - 02/09/21 04:31 AM

Switch to mouth calls. Sounds like you’ve burned the area with electric calls.

Let’s start with where you are calling, terrain, and why sounds you’re using.
Posted By: gary roberson

Re: Need major help - 02/09/21 02:56 PM

Originally Posted by BigPig
Switch to mouth calls. Sounds like you’ve burned the area with electric calls.

Let’s start with where you are calling, terrain, and why sounds you’re using.

Yep, I agree with BigPig and your populations may be low as well. Not sure where you are hunting.
Adios,
Gary

Re: Need major help - 02/10/21 03:14 AM

Locations include Guadalupe county 5 miles out of the town of new Braunfels, this is a small place, only 17 acres, but I’ve shot two coyotes out there sitting in the deer stand and have seen more than that out there. I’ve seen a couple bobcats and actually missed an enormous one early in deer season and this is the place where I called up and shot the grey fox. So I know there’s a few predators around.