Texas Hunting Forum

Awesome Smoked Hog Ham

Posted By: D-Box

Awesome Smoked Hog Ham - 11/16/15 05:53 AM

I'm new to hog hunting, and deer hunting too for that matter, but love to cook on the smoker. I killed my 4th last week, and after fine tuning my approach based off information from various sources, the smoked hams turned out better ever so I thought I'd share what's working for me. I got 8lbs of pulled pork from two hams from a 125lb bore.

- Remove fat and most silver skin with a fillet knife
- Inject with Tony Kachery's Cajun butter flavor, half jar in each ham (need to learn how to make this, it's pricy...)
- mix your favorite rub with veg oil and spread on hams. I use coarse ground pepper and coarse sea salt plus whatever else I feel like throwing in.
- Smoke with mesquite for 3 hours. Temp was about 150 this time, but don't need much heat since it's just about the smoke.
- Double wrap with heavy duty aluminum foil, to keep moisture in and bake in oven at 235 until internal temp gets to 180 and keep it there for one hour (I turned off the oven 30 min after it reached 180 and left it in for another 30) Oven cook time was about 7 hours. I found a very technical article that explained that 180 for one hour breaks down all the tough connecting tissue and makes any hog meat tender.
- let it cool, then pull the pork apart by hand. (This is better than slicing because the rub spices get all over your fingers and spread throughout the meat.
- Keep the juice in the pan, and store meat with some juice in the container with it.

Even a 100+ lb bore can be very tender if you do it this way. My whole family loves this stuff and I can't get enough hogs now.
Posted By: RangerRick

Re: Awesome Smoked Hog Ham - 11/16/15 11:10 AM

When we eat? food
Posted By: 1860.colt

Re: Awesome Smoked Hog Ham - 11/16/15 01:06 PM

welcome ta texasHF cheers grillen & chillen... Edit: My bro has several reciepies he uses for deer jerky, 2cents i used one ta make some hog jerky cheers flag