Texas Hunting Forum

Do you notify the GW when you night hunt? - especially Hunt County

Posted By: drqtn

Do you notify the GW when you night hunt? - especially Hunt County - 11/10/15 06:07 AM

I've been hunting hogs at night on a weekly basis for several months now. I've read that you need to notify the local game warden when you night hunt but I've never done it. Wanted to see what you guys do. Been lucky so far with no encounters with the wardens but don't want to get in trouble. I'm in Hunt County on my own property and could use some advice...
Posted By: Toxarch

Re: Do you notify the GW when you night hunt? - especially Hunt County - 11/10/15 07:36 AM

I never have in all the places we've spot lighted for pigs. I've been told to call the game warden or sheriff to let them know. It's better than them getting a call and having to come out in the middle of the night. Then they aren't going to be happy. But nobody has ever called the authorities on us. We're all legal so them showing up would just be time lost from hunting.
Posted By: 8pointdrop

Re: Do you notify the GW when you night hunt? - especially Hunt County - 11/10/15 12:45 PM

It's more of a courtesy thing to my local warden. I don't want him to have to get up at 2a.m. to drive out to my place. If he wants to check us he can swing by on his way home and not worry about the calls later that night.

You don't legally have to call a warden to spot light hogs on your place.
Posted By: Double Naught Spy

Re: Do you notify the GW when you night hunt? - especially Hunt County - 11/10/15 01:10 PM

Since I started hunting my place in Montague County in 2008, I have never seen the GW and I have never called him, despite now hunting multiple properties in the county and even holding night shoots at my place.