Texas Hunting Forum

Another score for the Photon

Posted By: der Teufel

Another score for the Photon - 08/19/14 05:07 PM

I'm still pretty new at the night vision game, and it's like any new toy — learning about it is a large part of the fun. I finally arranged to make some time for hunting a few days ago with my Photon 3.5X, and managed to score a 150 Lb boar shortly before dawn.

Sunrise here in Central Texas in mid-August is around 7AM. I got to my chosen hunting spot about 5:45AM but couldn't see any hogs using IR illumination. As I waited the sky began to gradually get lighter. By 6:15AM it was still very much too dark to see anything with the unaided eye, but there was sufficient light in the sky to allow the NV scope to see out over half a mile of pasture. I spotted a lone hog approximately five to six hundred yards out and began moving toward it.

The wind was perhaps 2-3 mph in my face, so it was an easy approach. It was still too dark to see the hog without the aid of the NV scope. I eased to within 75 yards and shot. The hog never knew it was in danger until the bullet passed through (a .30 cal 180 grain Hornady BTSP).

Clearly, in hot weather I'll be out early again waiting for that magical pre-dawn time just before twilight searching across the pastures looking for unsuspecting hogs with my Photon. I see a bright future in that, even if it's still dark outside.
Posted By: Double Naught Spy

Re: Another score for the Photon - 08/19/14 05:56 PM

BOOM! There it is! banana
Posted By: HuntTXhogs

Re: Another score for the Photon - 08/19/14 06:07 PM

Great job!
Posted By: bradyf

Re: Another score for the Photon - 08/19/14 06:49 PM

nice one!
Posted By: Txkiller

Re: Another score for the Photon - 08/19/14 06:54 PM

Congrats on the kill
Posted By: dfwroadkill

Re: Another score for the Photon - 08/19/14 07:09 PM

Hunting with night vision is a whole new world. Glad you are enjoying it! up
Posted By: Bearclaw