Texas Hunting Forum

Yote Calls

Posted By: RunnelsCtyHunter

Yote Calls - 05/07/11 04:37 AM

Hey forum, I am pretty new to varmint calling and bit the bullet and purchased a FoxPro Spitfire a few weeks ago. I went out last weekend and tried some of the 25 calls that came with it, but no luck. I hunt in Runnels County. Anyone have any suggestions where I can download some proven calls. We have a ton of yotes and bobcats out there. Thanks in advance!

Posted By: MaggieMTx

Re: Yote Calls - 05/07/11 03:11 PM

stick with the bird sounds on there for cat & fox, rabbit/jackrabbit distress for coyote.

Re: Yote Calls - 05/07/11 06:34 PM

Good tips, thanks Maggie. I hunt not all that far from ya there in Coleman County by the way.

Posted By: tannerlst

Re: Yote Calls - 05/07/11 07:09 PM

lightnin jack is a good one... called in just about everything with it....

Re: Yote Calls - 05/07/11 08:42 PM

Coon baby distress work well for fox/cat also.

Re: Yote Calls - 05/07/11 10:29 PM

How long typically do you let the call go before trying something different or relocating?

Posted By: SLT

Re: Yote Calls - 05/07/11 11:08 PM

30 to 45 min for me. I wait a little longer for the cats.

Re: Yote Calls - 05/08/11 02:18 AM

also, don't blast the call unless there is some wind. you might have one in closer then you think & don't need to blast it out of the area.

Posted By: J_squared

Re: Yote Calls - 05/08/11 12:29 PM