Texas Hunting Forum

Can quail survive this storm??

Posted By: GA DOG 3

Can quail survive this storm?? - 02/15/21 04:42 PM

Just wondering how long or if the quail can survive this record cold wave. Never had conditions like this in Ga. I would love to hear what some of you old Texas bird hunters think. Stay WARM Texas!!!
Posted By: bill oxner

Re: Can quail survive this storm?? - 02/15/21 05:01 PM

I'm afraid some will die.
Posted By: Kelulu

Re: Can quail survive this storm?? - 02/15/21 05:31 PM

I saw photos yesterday from Nebraska of a covey of bobwhite feeding in the snow at 3 degrees F. If my understanding is correct the main issue is access to quality food sources in cold weather. They need to eat a LOT to create the calories necessary to survive the cold.

I sure hope they are tough!
Posted By: arandy

Re: Can quail survive this storm?? - 02/15/21 07:39 PM

I think there will be some not make it on the ranch that I have been hunting for the last three years as it is over grazed badly and cover is limited. But some will survive in the draws that had some cover and thick mesquite. The bad thing is there were just not that many to start with so any loss is critical. I think the scaled quail will fare better than the bob whites on this place. The benefit of moisture is always significant out west so maybe it will mitigate to some degree lost birds. You just never know what will happen but I do know they did not need this and I am greatly concerned.

Re: Can quail survive this storm?? - 02/15/21 10:31 PM

It is a shame what has already happened with the bobwhite quail in Texas.
Posted By: Lalo

Re: Can quail survive this storm?? - 02/15/21 10:36 PM

Here is a good link to a podcast from Rolling Plains Quail Research Foundation about winter die-off.
Posted By: skinnerback

Re: Can quail survive this storm?? - 02/15/21 10:43 PM

Originally Posted by Kelulu