Texas Hunting Forum

New To Upland

Posted By: AggieFern

New To Upland - 11/02/20 08:10 PM

Hello All:

I am new to upland hunting, I have 15 month old Pudelpointer who has been training hard, and I would love to get her on wild birds. I have been thinking of going to eastern OK due to living in Dallas and because my little girl wants to go with me and a 8 hour truck ride may not be the best for her right now. Just looking for a little guidance and some opinions.

TIA
Fern
Posted By: bill oxner

Re: New To Upland - 11/02/20 08:49 PM

Take a peek of the NSTRA schedule in your area. She can get accustom to the shooting at a distance.. Everyone is welcome to take their dogs into the field and shoot the leftover quail after the trial on Saaturday.

welcome
Posted By: shooterwalter

Re: New To Upland - 11/03/20 01:13 AM

Make life easy for yourself and come try what we offer. Lots of 8 hour trips end with no birds. With us you can get your dog on birds and be home in time for dinner.
Posted By: Smokey Bear

Re: New To Upland - 11/03/20 02:33 AM

AggieFern, welcome to the forum and upland hunting. There are three or four more of us on here with Pudelpointers. How old is your daughter? It takes birds to make a bird dog and nothing will teach your dog to handle wild bird like wild birds. Do your homework and your dog a favor and put some miles on your truck.

Re: New To Upland - 11/03/20 12:39 PM

Originally Posted by shooterwalter
Make life easy for yourself and come try what we offer. Lots of 8 hour trips end with no birds. With us you can get your dog on birds and be home in time for dinner.

Location, location, location. I would have visited you years ago if I had been closer.
Posted By: shooterwalter

Re: New To Upland - 11/03/20 04:20 PM

No argument about wild birds and Preserve hunts offer closeness for ease of access and guaranteed birds when time does not permit the long distance chance to hunt.
Posted By: Kelulu

Re: New To Upland - 11/03/20 05:49 PM