Texas Hunting Forum

Killed a limit

Posted By: Wacm

Killed a limit - 01/01/18 07:19 AM

My deer lease pulled a bait and switch on us. They leased to us year round. We told them we quail hunt and that was ok with them in April. Come October...yes this October he says he has leased the land to quail hunters from Arkansas for after deer season so we wouldn't be allowed to quail hunt after deer season. Soooo

i hunted it pretty hard and found this amazing section maybe 50acers of the 4000. There were 4 coveys in there..one of those had at least 40 birds in it maybe more. We found the 4 coveys and chased them around a bit. There were singles everywhere. It was easy pickings at that point. They held so well in the sage. There is a chain of ponds there but I'm not sure why so many quail wanted to be there. I felt a little guilty shooting that many. I've never tried that hard before. Felt that I should since I might only get two hunts out of the place before the Arkansas folks get it. The cover was nasty. But man the birds were so thick in there. Wish I had it for the rest of the season.
Posted By: SnakeWrangler

Re: Killed a limit - 01/01/18 07:30 AM

worthless

Re: Killed a limit - 01/01/18 06:02 PM

I wish I took pics...it was dark by the time I got back to camp and the game bag was in cooler which got rocked around so bad from the rough terrain. The birds were soaked. I started setting them up and it looked awful...night pic with soaked quail.

I ended up freezing half of them. It's to much. Next time I'll stick to 6 or so. I end up taking better care of them that way. I do have half in a brine right now. Garlic Jap and salt and pepper with butter milk.

Re: Killed a limit - 01/01/18 06:06 PM

Actually it's worth saying...I've never let them get drenched in ice water before but that was really nice for cleaning them. No feathers sticking to everything. They cleaned up fast and neatly.
Posted By: 68rustbucket

Re: Killed a limit - 01/01/18 06:12 PM