Texas Hunting Forum

Newbie. Any tips?

Posted By: HTXdude123

Newbie. Any tips? - 08/26/21 05:16 PM

Hope ya'll are doing well. I didn't grow up hunting and last season was my first. I'm teaching myself as no one else in my family hunts. Thankfully I have a couple buddies with land and got invited twice last season to go shoot dove with them. But I tried several solo hunts on public land with no success. But I enjoyed just being out there anyways. I'm a grad student in austin so I have time to hunt even during the week. Wanted to see if any of ya'll more experienced hunters have any advice or tips (for a college student with no land) about how to get more birds. Thanks!
Posted By: 2flyfish4

Re: Newbie. Any tips? - 08/26/21 05:35 PM

Scout, find birds, find the fields they are using, find the flight paths they are using, find the area of the field they are using, find what time of the day they are using the field.

If you find answers to all the above you will have successful hunts. It may take hours and days to find the above answers but once you do you will know where and when to hunt.

Now granted just bc TPWD has a dove field availible to hunt doesn't mean it will ever hold any concentration of birds. It could be a lack of food, to much hunting pressure, or some other reason.
Posted By: CBP210

Re: Newbie. Any tips? - 08/26/21 06:09 PM

I am in the same boat as you. This season will be first hunt with my daughter for doves in Lytle, TX. I am usually a big game hunter but decided to take up bird hunting as my daughter competes in shotgun and wants to have more shotgun time.
Posted By: nesikabay

Re: Newbie. Any tips? - 08/26/21 07:40 PM

I see your a Grad student and live in Austin. I have lots of places to hunt but the big question is did you vote for Biden being in Austin and all
Posted By: Guy

Re: Newbie. Any tips? - 08/26/21 07:55 PM

Public dove hunting in Texas pretty much sux, at least around DFW. If you shoot 3 birds, that’s a good hunt.