Texas Hunting Forum

Wanting to learn to duck hunt in Central Texas

Posted By: crtucker90

Wanting to learn to duck hunt in Central Texas - 11/07/19 05:28 PM

Hi, I'm new to the forum, but would love to learn to duck hunt. I am a college student in Austin and I've deer hunted for several years, but am brand new to ducks. I have a 12 gauge, a dozen decoys, a mojo battery powered decoy, and am good at being quiet and listening to what you tell me to do. Like I said I'm a college student so I don't have a ton of money, but I'm happy to pay someone to let me tag along with them on a hunt or two and show me the ropes of how to properly hunt waterfowl. I'm also happy to drive to the Houston or Dallas areas to meet up with someone as well. Thanks!

I also have a ranch outside of Waco and am happy to trade deer hunting privileges for duck hunting haha.
Posted By: ndhunter

Re: Wanting to learn to duck hunt in Central Texas - 11/08/19 05:02 PM

Welcome to the THF
Posted By: NeKro

Re: Wanting to learn to duck hunt in Central Texas - 11/08/19 05:25 PM

Welcome to the forum! I am brand new to hunting and also wanting to learn how to hunt duck. There's some helpful people here and even one took me out to try out dove hunting and got hooked.
Posted By: Hopedale

Re: Wanting to learn to duck hunt in Central Texas - 11/08/19 06:01 PM

Welcome to the forum

First rule you need to know is don't name a lake on here. It isn't a rule, but some folks lose their mind.

Second, do you have waders?

You'll need them for hunting and the ribbing that goes on here.
Posted By: rickym

Re: Wanting to learn to duck hunt in Central Texas - 11/08/19 08:00 PM

Welcome, have you dove hunted or shot at any moving targets with your 12 gauge?
Posted By: crtucker90

Re: Wanting to learn to duck hunt in Central Texas - 11/09/19 04:11 AM

Yes, I have waders. Eager to get them wet for the first time! And I have shot clay pigeons with my 12 gauge, but not anything alive that moves yet.
Posted By: Greg