Texas Hunting Forum

Public Bay Blinds

Posted By: Flounder_Pounder_

Public Bay Blinds - 10/30/18 05:06 PM

I am still relatively new to duck hunting, and have read mixed information on public blind etiquette on the Texas Coast. A buddy and I hunted in an open blind in early teal season without any issues. However, would I be asking for trouble by trying to hunt in the same blind on opening day? Or would I be better off just setting up on the shore? Any advise is appreciated.
Posted By: Erichugh22

Re: Public Bay Blinds - 10/30/18 05:27 PM

People will give you crap if they show up to find you in their blind. But technically they are on public water and legal for anyone to hunt. Some blinds have gone up in my favorite coast spots, and that doesn’t stop me from hunting there wether it’s in the blind or close to it. However I don’t go out of my way to hunt a blind just because it’s there.

Re: Public Bay Blinds - 10/30/18 05:44 PM

In fact, someone recently built a brand new blind where I’m planning to hunt Saturday. I don’t plan on hunting in it but I’m sure they’re going to be mad when I beat them to the spot. Luckily my skiff is in the water on a lift already and I don’t have to wIt till 6 for the ramp to open like everyone else.
Posted By: Guy

Re: Public Bay Blinds - 10/30/18 06:23 PM

Originally Posted By: Flounder_Pounder_
I am still relatively new to duck hunting, and have read mixed information on public blind etiquette on the Texas Coast.

Proper etiquette on public is first come, early bird gets the worm. Unless they have a permit for the blind. Otherwise, tell them to go pound sand.

I like to run over blinds in my gatortrax. smile ani
Posted By: Flounder_Pounder_

Re: Public Bay Blinds - 10/30/18 06:25 PM

Okay, Thanks for the information. Also, this may sound like a dumb question, but what is a good distance for parking the boat so that it doesn't spook the ducks? Where I will be hunting it doesn't seem like there is a good way to hide the boat.