Texas Hunting Forum

Need Some THF Help

Posted By: oilag

Need Some THF Help - 11/20/15 06:01 PM

Hey Fellas - Thinking about painting some mallards into divers this weekend. Does anyone have any pics, tipS, advice, etc? Thinking about doing some redheads or bluebills. Thanks in advance for the help!
Posted By: Cole4544

Re: Need Some THF Help - 11/20/15 07:00 PM

Go use the working decoys forum. Quick google search will get you there. The whole forum is dedicated to making decoys including the painting process. Tons of great info. by far more than you will get here. Carved a few by hand myself, very fun.
Posted By: wal1809

Re: Need Some THF Help - 11/20/15 07:09 PM

DAve Speer is the decoy guy
Posted By: Hopedale

Re: Need Some THF Help - 11/20/15 09:20 PM

Originally Posted By: wal1809
DAve Speer is the decoy guy

Beat me to it.
Posted By: Indyoshi

Re: Need Some THF Help - 11/20/15 10:41 PM

Im really new to duck hunting but I hear redhead divers are pretty dumb and will decoy to about anything. ..

Re: Need Some THF Help - 11/20/15 10:45 PM

Originally Posted By: Indyoshi
Im really new to duck hunting but I hear redhead divers are pretty dumb and will decoy to about anything. ..

Yes sir - they will! I just have some old mallards laying around and want to freshen them up. Since I rarely hunt north of i-10 I thought I'd paint up some divers.
Posted By: Esh and Hattie

Re: Need Some THF Help - 11/20/15 11:03 PM

Last year my dad and I were hunting a mudflat point with 2 layout blinds and had 6 redheads decoy. First, they tried to land between the dekes and the bank, about 10yd shots. Second, when we sat up to shoot they just kept coming at us, and one hit the deck and scurried in between our layouts in the brush. We each hit 1 duck with our first shot and the flock got behind us fast so only 2 shots fired. The one between the layouts was fine, not shot, just hiding. I stood up and kicked it out like a pheasant and watched it fly away.