Texas Hunting Forum

Decoy Painting Help

Posted By: GigEmAggies

Decoy Painting Help - 07/29/15 03:22 AM

Need some advice guys. I recently bought the Flambeau mallard decoy paint kit to spruce up my mallards. Before I started painting I scrubbed the decoys down with soap and hot water and let the dry. After I got done painting I left them out overnight to dry. The next morning I sprayed them all down with Krylon Matte Finish hoping to get a good protective coat. That night I get them together (they're Texas rigged) and went to hang them up down in the shop. When I hung them up I noticed a lot of the paint was already scuffing up and rubbing off onto the other decoys. At that rate they wouldn't last more than a couple hunts. Any tips on what I can do to fix this problem? Thanks!
Posted By: wal1809

Re: Decoy Painting Help - 07/29/15 11:14 AM

Yes Sir. Sell them for a buck a decoy and go buy new. Buy G and H and never worry about painting decoys again.
Posted By: TTUhunter4

Re: Decoy Painting Help - 07/29/15 02:11 PM

Originally Posted By: wal1809
Yes Sir. Sell them for a buck a decoy and go buy new. Buy G and H and never worry about painting decoys again.
And you will be the proud owner of some of the least realistic looking decoys on the market.
Posted By: Ben Lilly

Re: Decoy Painting Help - 07/29/15 03:10 PM

Use a primer
Posted By: woodduckhunter

Re: Decoy Painting Help - 07/29/15 03:43 PM

Originally Posted By: TTUhunter4
And you will be the proud owner of some of the least realistic looking decoys on the market.

second that
Posted By: Littlejr13

Re: Decoy Painting Help - 07/30/15 02:17 AM

Go buy Avian X and never look back!
Posted By: Dave Speer

Re: Decoy Painting Help - 07/31/15 02:20 PM

Isn't the UVision stuff an oil based paint? If so, your mistake was probably related to not allowing enough time to dry and/or putting that Krylon crap on top of it.
Posted By: Jeff Elder

Re: Decoy Painting Help - 08/01/15 02:57 AM