Texas Hunting Forum

Food Plot Timing

Posted By: angus1956

Food Plot Timing - 04/18/23 02:40 PM

Ok this is my first time planting a food plot and need some THF input.

I have 3 small areas and here is my plan, on my 40 acre place.

1. 1/2 acre of field corn at feeder location 200 yards behind the house. Corn will back up to timber tree line.
2. 1/4 acre of open ground at back of place. I was thinking of oats and Austrian peas. (Hidie Hole location)
3. 1/4 acre trail approx 12-14' wide cut through the timber and also plant oats & Austrian peas. (Hidie Hole location)

I took my GPS and using the area calculations I have 1 acre, so sizes are correct.

My question is when should I plant to have maximum benefit during hunting season ( i know i have to time planting with rain). Here in Southern Oklahoma archery begins in October and rifle season is always the first Saturday before Thanksgiving.

Thanks,
Posted By: Mr. T.

Re: Food Plot Timing - 04/18/23 03:13 PM

if you want to do it right the first time, it is going to take a little work. Others will have their way but this always works for me.
Till the ground, wait a week and spray anything that is coming up, wait a week or two for everything to die that you have sprayed and then till again
and you can use your hand spreader the same day, drag something over the plot to cover the seeds. I use a wooden pallet pulled behind my truck.
I also use a hand spreader for my plot. it's a pain, but can be done. Any feed store will have the oats. You might have to
look for the peas at a couple of places or see it they will order you a bag. I'm old and so it depends on how tired I am as to whether I spread the
fertilizer with the seed or wait until it comes up about two inches and the top dress the plot. I did not use any fertilizer this year on the Arkansas
plot as I planted with no rain in the forecast and I did not want to burn up the seed. When it did rain, it never stopped and rained about every 3 or