Texas Hunting Forum

Javelina

Posted By: Retired Sgt. Gilliam

Javelina - 01/23/23 11:03 PM

I'm a retired disabled soldier. I live in East Texas and hunt hogs a lot. Went to Twin Buttes by San angelo with my brother looking for javelina but there are none there. Anyone know where some are on state land? Thanks in advance
Posted By: 603Country

Re: Javelina - 01/24/23 12:05 AM

You aren’t gonna eat one of those things are you?
Posted By: DQ Kid

Re: Javelina - 01/24/23 06:20 PM

Originally Posted by 603Country
You aren’t gonna eat one of those things are you?

Sure, chili powder, lemon juice, other powders.....taste like javelina, lol....
Posted By: DonPablo

Re: Javelina - 01/24/23 06:49 PM

Lake Meredith. Not sure if that county has year-round season or not.
Posted By: jnd59

Re: Javelina - 01/24/23 09:06 PM

You can make chili out of anything. That's what it's for.

Re: Javelina - 01/24/23 09:41 PM

Do they not taste good. Wild hogs are good to eat
Posted By: redchevy

Re: Javelina - 01/25/23 03:13 AM

They can have a pretty strong flavor similar to their smell. If you’re not familiar with their smell… they are one of few animals I have hunter that I smelled before I saw.

That said have eaten some young ones and female javi that were very good.
Posted By: RattlesnakeDan

Re: Javelina - 01/25/23 11:39 AM

[Linked Image]
My wife shot her first Javi a couple weeks ago at a friends ranch near Laredo. I had to do a euro mount of it, she was pretty proud of her 150 yd shot. Fun little buggers to chase around.
Posted By: Nolanco

Re: Javelina - 01/25/23 01:12 PM

Apparently the little toots are edible if prepared properly:

https://levergunscommunity.org/viewtopic.php?t=87294&sid=ff2bde3a7b7152acc149a603147263c9
Posted By: Chopperdrvr

Re: Javelina - 01/26/23 01:45 AM