Texas Hunting Forum

Wild hog ID - telling male from female?

Posted By: Steve from GA

Wild hog ID - telling male from female? - 01/22/21 11:33 PM

Surprisingly, I have found very little information on this question. Can you guys give some dependable pointers on how to quickly tell a sow from a boar? I’m new to the game, and aside from the t*ts and the n*ts (which aren’t always visible), they all look a very similar sort of ugly to me.
Posted By: Creekrunner

Re: Wild hog ID - telling male from female? - 01/22/21 11:42 PM

Shoot first. Ask questions later.
Posted By: syncerus

Re: Wild hog ID - telling male from female? - 01/22/21 11:44 PM

Watch the German hunting videos. On a number of the driven hunts, there's a penalty for shooting sows, so they make a greater effort to identify boars.
Posted By: killen

Re: Wild hog ID - telling male from female? - 01/23/21 01:13 AM

nuts
Posted By: Michael W.

Re: Wild hog ID - telling male from female? - 01/23/21 01:29 AM

They are all the same in the Eyes of the bullet. Shoot all and throw the smelly ones away.
Posted By: Blank

Re: Wild hog ID - telling male from female? - 01/23/21 01:43 AM

You obviously didn't have drivers ed and sex ed in the same car in high school!!
Posted By: 603Country

Re: Wild hog ID - telling male from female? - 01/23/21 02:13 AM

Well, generally, at least around my place, the big boars are usually alone, whereas the sows, kids, and such are in groups. And when I find them in groups, I just shoot a middle sized one for food. The gender doesn’t matter too much.