Texas Hunting Forum

Hog Trap Door

Posted By: RossCravens

Hog Trap Door - 07/08/14 07:40 PM

Howdy All,

I am finally going to break down and build a corral type hog trap this weekend that I have been talking about doing for a couple of years now. We acquired some 6"x6" wire mats 10"x20" in size. I am going to make a large tear drop shaped corral but I am not sure what the best door for it is. I am going to use either a lifting type door with a hinge at the top, or a swing gate/saloon type door. Either way set with a trip wire.

What are y'all's thoughts on the door selection? What do you use or have you seen work the best?

Does anyone have any suggestions on trapping hogs? We have about 270 in Bandera county and we really need to do some population control.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!!!
Posted By: Bmnloader

Re: Hog Trap Door - 07/08/14 07:47 PM

I have traps with both types of doors and they both catch the hogs but I do prefer the drop type door. Just make it heavy enough to where they can't root out of it.

Re: Hog Trap Door - 07/08/14 08:01 PM

That is what I was leaning toward.

Do you buy them or make them? I would rather buy...do you have any suggestions where I can pick one up?
Posted By: Navasot

Re: Hog Trap Door - 07/08/14 08:02 PM

The swing down doors are the most effective... Drops work well also but use metal instead of wood
Posted By: 1860.colt

Re: Hog Trap Door - 07/09/14 02:09 AM

scratch swing door with spring 2cents scratch how big of trap, got every thing in inches flag
Posted By: hornet527

Re: Hog Trap Door - 07/09/14 04:55 AM

Here are 3 doors I have on my traps. 1 saloon type. 2 drop type
Posted By: kry226

Re: Hog Trap Door - 07/09/14 12:35 PM

Where does a man get a trap door?
Posted By: Ag Hunter 78

Re: Hog Trap Door - 07/09/14 02:01 PM

Howdy Ross!

These folks are over in Seguin and have good prices on their hog gates:

http://www.bb-manufacturing.com/Products.html

And gig 'em.