Texas Hunting Forum

Rookie Question

Posted By: DoveMaster

Rookie Question - 09/17/15 02:58 PM

I'm new to public hunting, wondering what the general consensus is on this question. I was drawn to hunt Lake Fairfield "Antlerless/Spike", and wondering if i see a small doe if it's worth taking the shot, or should i wait for a bigger deer doe/buck/spike. I'm new to deer hunting, so apologize in advance for my ignorance on.

Also, if i see a hog, would most of you guys take the shot on, or wait for the deer kill to show up?

Posted By: jmh004

Re: Rookie Question - 09/17/15 03:07 PM

If you see a doe go ahead and take it if its on a spike/antlerless hunt. The hog would be up to you. Shooting could scare off any deer. But you could also not see anything else as well.
Posted By: Palehorse

Re: Rookie Question - 09/17/15 03:10 PM

Depends on how many deer show up. The success rate on that hunt was only 24% last year. I would drop the first legal critter I saw. Be VERY careful though when you are shooting a spike. Get a really good look at it through some binoculars and make sure it is indeed a spike. There will very likely be a game warden at the check station. If it isn't exactly legal, you will lose your deer and probably be given a strong financial incentive to not do that again.

Good luck!
Posted By: DoveMaster

Re: Rookie Question - 09/17/15 03:36 PM

Palehorse, just so i know what qualifies as a Spike, as to your understanding on? don't the point have to be at least an inch or something like that?
Posted By: Matagorda Mud Pig

Re: Rookie Question - 09/17/15 03:53 PM

Shoot away. If you see a pig and want to shoot it, shoot away. Be legal of course.
Posted By: jmh004

Re: Rookie Question - 09/17/15 03:55 PM

A spike is considered to any "unbranched antler".
Posted By: dkershen

Re: Rookie Question - 09/17/15 10:09 PM

I highly suggest you spend time reading the hunting regs and committing them to heart before heading out for this hunt...