Texas Hunting Forum

Big Glass Binos

Posted By: DStroud

Big Glass Binos - 10/17/21 05:48 PM

Looking at a pair of 15x-18x Binoculars for Tripod glassing. Narrowed to Swaro SLC or the Vortex UHD and I guess the question really is are the Swaro’s worth extra 700.00?
Posted By: scottfromdallas

Re: Big Glass Binos - 10/17/21 10:12 PM

It’s been 4 hours with no response.

I have no experience with either so I’ll say “buy once, cry once “.

I like the idea of a 15X Bino over a spotting scope. I was considering the Tract 15X.
Posted By: Creekrunner

Re: Big Glass Binos - 10/17/21 10:18 PM

Originally Posted by DStroud
... and I guess the question really is are the Swaro’s worth extra 700.00?

Yes.
Posted By: Jgraider

Re: Big Glass Binos - 10/17/21 11:21 PM

The Meopta Meostar HD's are on par with the Swaro's. That's the direction I'd go personally. The UHD's are very nice, but I don't think they're in the same league with either of the other two.
Posted By: BOBO the Clown

Re: Big Glass Binos - 10/17/21 11:23 PM

Looking at a pair of 15x-18x Binoculars for Tripod glassing. Narrowed to Swaro SLC or the Vortex UHD and I guess the question really is are the Swaro’s worth extra 700.00?

Pass the Vortex and look at Maven B5. It’s much closer, until swaro comes out with High mag/big object NL pures

https://mavenbuilt.com/collections/binoculars/products/b-5-10x56-12x56-15x56-18x56

I’d also toss the meopta in there, as an option.

I suspect Swaro updates big glass next. It’s the only antiquated piece left in the line
Posted By: J.G.

Re: Big Glass Binos - 10/17/21 11:59 PM

You're comparing Swaro glass to Vortex glass?

Of course the Swaro is worth the extra $700.

Clarity trumps magnification, always.

Re: Big Glass Binos - 10/18/21 12:11 AM

Reason I am limiting to those is that’s what Cabelas has and I have a bunch of points burning a hole in my pocket.

Would normally look at Maven except for above and thinking ahead the Swaro resale would be much better for sure.