Texas Hunting Forum

Leading animals with thermal

Posted By: Brother in-law

Leading animals with thermal - 12/29/19 04:16 AM

I’ve began implementing some thermal use mixed with the old red light while predator hunting. I’ve had a few opportunities now to shoot at trotting and balls out running coyotes.
Question is how far in front of the coyote with thermal should one lead? I’m still learning yardage and distance with the Pulsar
Posted By: SR025

Re: Leading animals with thermal - 12/29/19 04:25 AM

spray and pray
Posted By: J.G.

Re: Leading animals with thermal - 12/29/19 04:32 AM

Start with half a coyote length in front.

See what you get based on distance.
Posted By: Pig_Popper

Re: Leading animals with thermal - 12/29/19 04:44 AM

Why are they running ?

One shot one kill

stir
Posted By: Brother in-law

Re: Leading animals with thermal - 12/29/19 04:48 AM

Originally Posted by SR025
spray and pray

That happened

Originally Posted by Pig_Popper
Why are they running ?

One shot one kill

stir

There was a coupe errors made and we got caught with the guard down

I’ll take some errors for all the animals I called in. I got a a piece of one but should have had some fur down
Posted By: CharlieCTx

Re: Leading animals with thermal - 12/29/19 05:27 PM

I seem to have a difficult time with Coyotes for some reason, I’m like 3 of 20 as they appear to do a Neo thing (The Matrix) when I send a round their way. I will say with a running hog, the lead at 100 yds with my 308 is at least a full hog length. Here’s my favorite video where persistence and a 10 round mag were important. Banjo’s start at 80 yds, final shot was 150. Optic was a smaller aperture original THoR, my first Thermal.

Charlie
Posted By: MDMORROW

Re: Leading animals with thermal - 12/30/19 03:35 AM

I usually lay it on the tip of their nose and give it a try. It's hit or miss on hitting a running dog with thermal but I have pretty good success that way.
Posted By: scalebuster