Texas Hunting Forum

Sightmark Photon RT - Which Magnification to get?

Posted By: HLo

Sightmark Photon RT - Which Magnification to get? - 12/18/19 02:19 PM

I was going to get the 4.5 X since it has better FOV. Is the FOV on the 6X that bad? Most of my shots will likely be 100+ yards. On occasion may have a few at 70-80 yards.
Do you ever use the digital zoom? I have never owned a digital scope.

Was thinking about the Wraith but from review on Youtube sounds like there are some things that need to be worked out and without the IR on you cannot see anything.

THoughts?
Posted By: GLC

Re: Sightmark Photon RT - Which Magnification to get? - 12/18/19 02:25 PM

Get the 4.5, the 6.5 gets too grainy. You won't like the digital zoom either, gets very grainy also. It is good for the money but you will leave it at the 4.5 setting.
Posted By: pegasaurus

Re: Sightmark Photon RT - Which Magnification to get? - 12/19/19 05:10 AM

I have no experience wit the Photon but I do have the ATN X-Sight II 3x14. They also have a 5x20.
That said......
If your shooting will typically be under 200 yards stay with the lower power. I will work just fine further that that but as you pointed out.. the FOV on the 6 X will be tough at night to make quick acquisition on targets under 75 yards.

Just my thoughts on my same questions I had when buying the ATN.
Posted By: Bee'z

Re: Sightmark Photon RT - Which Magnification to get? - 12/19/19 05:52 AM

Get the lowest your can.
Posted By: WendlingKnives

Re: Sightmark Photon RT - Which Magnification to get? - 12/19/19 12:29 PM

I had a 4.6 photon for the last couple years. I wouldnt want more. i now have a pulsar thermal thats 2.2x and like it even better
Posted By: Bmnloader

Re: Sightmark Photon RT - Which Magnification to get? - 12/19/19 02:20 PM

I've got the 4.6 as well. Consistent shots out to around 130 yrds with no problem.

Re: Sightmark Photon RT - Which Magnification to get? - 12/19/19 08:01 PM