Texas Hunting Forum

Question about First Focal Plane

Posted By: AZ_Hunter_2000

Question about First Focal Plane - 07/03/19 03:37 AM

I have a question about first focal plane scopes.

Background
Last minute issue popped up that required me to make arrangements to get a new scope with very little time.

Short list: Leupold VX6-HD (3-18) and Nightforce NX8 (2.5-20).

First choice: NX8. Second choice: VX6HD. Due to severe time constraints no other scopes were considered (better or worse).

Sunday morning I went to a local retailer. I looked at the VX6HD and it met all of the requirements for its intended purpose. The NX8 would meet and/or exceed the same requirements (minus the weight penalty but offers higher reliability). The deciding factor is it is a FFP scope which I have zero experience with. Since the store did not have a NX8 in stock, I looked through a FFP SHV (nice scope). There were no issues while looking at a target (store wall) that provided a strong contrast. I then looked at a screen on a tent flap less than 100 feet away. The reticle disappeared completely. There were no issues seeing the reticle if I zoomed (which is not always feasible).

One thought that came to mind was "if I could not see the reticle to make an accurate shot at a stationary tent flap at 33 yards, how would I be able to make a shot at a black bear at that same distance"?

Question
What is the "secret" to using a FFP scope when your target is dark? Dark object in low light?

Current Status
I've made arrangements to get the VX6HD (3-18x50). If I can figure out to make a FFP scope work with my hunting conditions, then I would have no issue moving the VX6HD to another rifle and picking up the NX8 (2.5-20x50) for this particular rifle.
Posted By: Bee'z

Re: Question about First Focal Plane - 07/03/19 03:47 AM

If you were at low magnification you obviously would not see chit with a FFP. Spin the mag up and the reticle grows as you go up and what ever ruler you pick is true.